Review: GoGo Pocha

GoGo Pocha, Waterloo, SE1           7/10

This is one of those places where you stand outside and toss a coin to see whether you will risk spending the rest of the evening on the toilet. However it is fairly common knowledge that so many of the places that seem like this often have the best tasting and/or most authentic food. My chair was falling apart and there was a piece of plastic digging in my thigh but once the food came along I quickly forgot all about it.

When you go into a Korean place and the clientele are mostly from that country that is definitely a great sign. Having only chopsticks on the table also gives you a clue of authenticity. Service is efficient but not unfriendly. The guy leaned over the bar behind my head to take my order and to give us the bill. To be honest this is ideal, I don’t mind having a chat with a waiter/waitress if it is truly genuine but you know most are just working for tips, which is understandable but I can live without it. Unless service is terrible I’m going to tip regardless.

This place offers a set lunch menu for just £6. What a bargain! When we sat down we were given a beansprout salad and a seaweed salad, yum! Also with this welcome treat was a small cup of miso soup each which was totally divine. I ordered kimchi stew with pork and tofu. We also had some BBQ pork belly and rice. The food is tasty and fills you up, really what more do you need for that price? It is tough to find quick, fresh, healthy and affordable food in the city, particularly within zone 1. I always love to try local beers and I tasted Korean beer Cass for the first time. It’s typical of a beer that reigns from a hot country and I must say those are my favourite.

I love it when you happen upon these hidden gems while wandering around and hope there are many more to come!

Leave a comment